Oviedo Journalism



FSPA Journalists of the Year (each was top three in state, bolded won first place)

Writer of the Year: Paige Simpson, The Lion’s Tale

Designer of the Year: Aleena Voorhees, The Oviedian

Broadcast Journalist of the Year: Ashlyn Register, WROR TV

Photojournalist of the Year: Fernand Silva, The Lion’s Tale


The Lion’s Tale

FSPA All-Florida Newspaper 2018

CSPA Silver Crown Hybrid with OviedoJournalism.com 2018

NSPA Pacemaker Finalist 2016

FSPA All-Florida Individual Awards

General Feature Story: Sex Ed? Bryn Garick

General Feature Story: Parents, students consider impact of Code Red drills. Bryn Garick

First Place: Sports Game Coverage: Senior night for girls’ volleyball shows team’s dominance. Nevada Cullen



FSPA All-Florida Online 2018

CSPA Silver Crown Hybrid with The Lion’s Tale 2018

FSPA All-Florida Individual Awards

First Place: Multimedia Event: Remembrance walkout turns political. Saadhana Sridharan, Ashlyn Register, Fern Silva, Leeann Figueroa



NSPA Pacemaker Winner 2017

FSPA All-Florida Broadcast 2018

FSPA All-Florida Individual Awards

Short Film: Kaiju, King of Coffee. Tanner Roberts, Parker Davidson

Top 3 in Florida: Sports Highlight: Girls’ Soccer State Semifinals. Nevada Cullen

Sports Highlight: Hagerty-Oviedo Boys’ Basketball. Nevada Cullen

Top 3 in Florida: News Package: JSU Holocaust Event. Leeann Figueroa, Blair Brown

Top 3 in Florida: Broadcast Profile: Jesseca Montcrieff. Ashlyn Register, Nevada Cullen

STN Awards 2018

Film Excellence Award: Best Art Direction & Set Design. “Kaiju, King of Coffee.” Tanner Roberts, Parker Davidson, Zach Jackson, Emma smith, Delaney Way

1st Place: Humorous Segment. Movie Review. Tanner Roberts, Zach Jackson, Parker Davidson, Emma Smith

2nd Place: Sci-Fi/Fantasy. Experiment 001. Allen Sowersby, Ronin Eufrazio, Nathan Dillman, Eric Sanders

5th Place: Sci-Fi/Fantasy. The Fairy. Andrea Festejo, Rachel Balleste, Adrice Galloway, Ashley Bess

2nd Place: Sports Feature. Colin O’Brien Profile. Ashlyn Register, Nevada Cullen


The Oviedian

FSPA All-Florida Yearbook 2018

FSPA All-Florida Individual Awards

Sports Spread: Swim and Dive. Mia Dahm, Jayden Alderman, Matthew Loiars

Sports Spread: Varsity Football. Kaelle Robillo

Sports Spread: Bowling. Mia Dahm, Mandy Turner, Neri Verniani

Student Life Spread: Winter Break. Hannah Jahosky

Theme Package: Oviedian Theme. Aleena Voorhees, Brittany Watley, Megan Handler

Personality Portrait: Summer Breeze. Olivia Bastone

Student Life Copy: Summer Vacation. Jazlynn Nelson


Adviser Awards

FSPA Adviser of the Year 2018: Kevin Patterson

FSPA Gold Medallion Recipient 2018: Alicia Pope

STN Teacher Video Contest Winner 2018: Kevin Patterson

JEA Future Administrator 2018: Elise Carlson

Activate Search